(480) 562-9830

Rev. Janice Brett, MACM

5801 East Main Street

Suite 401

​Mesa, Arizona 85205


 LOTV is a 501 (c) (3) charitable organization.  All contributions are tax deductible.

The Five Stages of Grief

Sometimes the purpose of a day is to merely feel our sadness, knowing that as we do, we allow whole layers of grief, like old skin cells to drop off of us - Marianne Williamson

Many people do not experience the stages of grief in the order listed below and that is okay.  The key to understanding the different stages is not to feel like you must go through every one of them in precise order.  Instead, it is more helpful to look at them as guides in the grieving process -- it helps you understand and put into context where you are within the process.

The five stages of grief are:


  1. Denial and isolation
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance


Coping with loss is ultimately a deeply personal and singular experience.  Nobody can help you go through it more easily or understand all the emotions that you're going through.  Others can, however, be there for you and help comfort you through the process.  The best thing you can do is to allow yourself to feel the grief as it comes over you.  Resisting it only prolongs the natural process of healing.

Grief Support

Mission: Lighthouse of the Valley is committed to providing a knowledgeable caring environment to assist individuals through the cycle of grief.

Suffering the loss of a loved one can be a difficult time, and often a challenge to move forward through the grief process.  LOTV provides caring and confidential support  through:


  • Assessing a person or family in crisis
  • Providing grief support groups for all ages
  • Providing restorative healing retreats
  • Providing resources regarding death, dying and grieving
  • Supplies resources for continued support

Please Contact Us for more information about scheduled support groups and events.